Batteries for DIY Solar in the Philippines: LiFePO4 Basics, Capacity Maths and Safety
LiFePO4 batteries for DIY solar in the Philippines: Ah × V = Wh capacity maths, depth of discharge, safe placement, and what to confirm before buying the PowMr 1000W kit.
Checked against the sources listed below. How we research.
Key takeaways
- Battery energy in watt-hours = amp-hours × volts. A 12.8V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery holds 12.8 × 100 = 1,280Wh. An mAh figure without a voltage tells you very little.
- Depth of discharge is how much of that energy you actually use. Plan with less than the full label figure, then subtract inverter losses and idle draw.
- The PowMr 1000W 12V kit pairs a 1kW inverter with a 12.8V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery and a 200W panel. Its inverter model is inferred, not stated, and 60Hz output is unverified (both PowMr catalogues say 50Hz).
- The kit panel's Voc, Isc and Vmp are not published, so you can't confirm it reaches the inverter's 20V minimum solar voltage. Ask the seller before buying.
- Keep batteries cool, dry, ventilated, off the floor in flood-prone homes, and protected by a fuse or breaker close to the battery.
On this page
For most small DIY solar setups in the Philippines, a LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) battery is the sensible choice, and the one number that matters most is its energy in watt-hours: amp-hours × volts. A 12.8V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery, like the one in the PowMr 1000W 12V solar kit, holds 1,280Wh on the label, and less in practice after depth of discharge, inverter losses and idle draw. Before buying that kit, confirm three things with the seller: the exact inverter model, that it outputs 60Hz (PowMr’s catalogues list the matching model as 50Hz only), and the panel’s Voc, Isc and Vmp, which aren’t published.
This guide covers what LiFePO4 is, how to work out real battery capacity, depth of discharge, safe placement in a Filipino home, and an honest look at the PowMr kit.
LiFePO4 in plain terms
LiFePO4 is a type of lithium battery. It’s the chemistry used in most current portable power stations (the BLUETTI Elite 30 V2, for example), in many DIY solar batteries, and even in small solar floodlights like the Ecolum, which uses a 3.2V 15Ah LiFePO4 pack.
Key points:
- Cell voltage. A LiFePO4 cell is 3.2V nominal. Four cells in series make the familiar “12V” battery, which is really 12.8V nominal (4 × 3.2V). Charge controllers often call this a “4S LiFePO4” setting; PowMr’s Keeper controller manual, for example, has 4S and 5S LiFePO4 presets.
- Cycle life. LiFePO4 is generally chosen for its long cycle life compared with lead-acid. Exact figures depend on the product. As one verified example, BLUETTI rates the Elite 30 V2 at “3,000+ cycles to 80% original capacity”. For any other battery, look for the maker’s stated cycle figure and the conditions behind it.
- BMS. A LiFePO4 battery should have a built-in battery management system (BMS). It protects the cells from over-charging, over-discharging, too much current and (on some models) temperature extremes. The BMS also sets the maximum current the battery can deliver, which matters when you pick an inverter.
- Charge settings. LiFePO4 needs the right charge voltages. Controllers and inverters with a “lithium” or “user-defined” battery type let you match them. Use the battery maker’s figures, not a guess.
Compared with lead-acid
Lead-acid is still common in small gadgets. The Firefly FEL6116 solar desk fan, for instance, uses a 6V 4,500mAh lead-acid battery. Lead-acid is cheap and familiar, but it’s heavier for the same energy and generally doesn’t like being run flat or left discharged. Vented (flooded) lead-acid batteries can also release gas while charging, so they need good ventilation. For a battery you’ll cycle daily from solar, LiFePO4 is usually the better long-term buy.
Capacity maths: Ah × V = Wh
Battery labels mix units. Amp-hours (Ah) or milliamp-hours (mAh) on their own don’t tell you how much energy is stored. You need the voltage too.
Energy (Wh) = capacity (Ah) × nominal voltage (V)
Worked examples using products in our data:
| Battery | Capacity | Voltage | Energy |
|---|---|---|---|
| PowMr 1000W kit battery | 100Ah | 12.8V | 100 × 12.8 = 1,280Wh |
| Ecolum solar floodlight | 15Ah | 3.2V | 15 × 3.2 = 48Wh |
| Firefly FEL6116 desk fan | 4.5Ah (4,500mAh) | 6V | 4.5 × 6 = 27Wh |
| Bosca BSF-888 stand fan | “18,000mAh” | Not stated | Can’t be worked out |
The Bosca fan shows why voltage matters. An “18,000mAh” battery could hold a lot of energy or very little, depending on its voltage. The listing doesn’t say, so the figure means almost nothing on its own. See our no-wiring solar gadgets guide for more on that listing.
Series and parallel batteries
If you combine identical batteries:
- Two in parallel (positive to positive, negative to negative): voltage stays the same, amp-hours add. Two 12.8V 100Ah batteries = 12.8V 200Ah = 2,560Wh.
- Two in series (positive of one to negative of the next): amp-hours stay the same, voltage adds. Two 12.8V 100Ah batteries = 25.6V 100Ah = 2,560Wh.
Either way, the energy doubles. Only combine batteries if the maker says the model supports series or parallel use, and only combine identical batteries of the same age and charge level. Mismatched batteries can stress each other’s BMS.
Depth of discharge: how much you can actually use
Depth of discharge (DoD) is how much of the battery’s capacity you use before recharging. Using 50% of a 1,280Wh battery is 50% DoD; using 1,024Wh is 80% DoD.
Two reasons to plan with less than 100%:
- Battery life. Many batteries last more cycles if they aren’t regularly run to empty. The maker’s datasheet should state the cycle life and at what DoD it was measured.
- Reserve. In the rainy season you may get several cloudy days in a row. Keeping a reserve means you aren’t left with nothing on the second evening.
None of the batteries in this guide publish a recommended DoD, so we use an example assumption below. Replace it with your battery maker’s figure.
From label Wh to usable Wh (example)
Here’s a worked example with the PowMr kit battery. The 80% and 90% figures are assumptions for illustration only, not specs for this kit.
Label energy: 100Ah × 12.8V = 1,280Wh
Example DoD (80%): 1,280 × 0.80 = 1,024Wh
Example inverter efficiency 90%: 1,024 × 0.90 ≈ 920Wh delivered as AC
Then subtract the inverter’s own idle draw (next section). If you run a 50W load from AC, about 920Wh ÷ 50W ≈ 18 hours, before idle losses. For your own appliances, use the power station runtime calculator and the appliance consumption calculator, and see how to calculate power station runtime for the method. The same maths works for a DIY battery.
Don’t forget idle draw
An inverter uses power just by being switched on, even with nothing plugged in. PowMr’s catalogue lists the no-load draw of the POW-HVM1K-12V (the inverter we believe is in the kit) as under 28W.
28W × 24 hours = 672Wh per day
672 ÷ 1,280 ≈ 52% of the battery's label capacity
Left on all day and night with nothing running, the inverter alone could use up to about half the battery. The habit that saves the most energy in a small system: switch the inverter off when you don’t need AC power.
Battery safety and ventilation
Any battery that can deliver 100A or more must be treated with respect, whatever its chemistry. These are general practices; always follow your battery’s manual.
Placement
- Cool, dry and shaded. Never in direct sun, and avoid a closed hot room under a metal roof. Heat shortens battery life.
- Ventilated. Leave space around the battery and the inverter. Inverters get warm under load and need airflow. Vented lead-acid batteries need extra ventilation because of the gas they can release while charging.
- Off the floor. In flood-prone barangays, mount the battery and inverter well above any past flood line. Floodwater and live batteries are a dangerous mix.
- Away from flammables like curtains, paper, fuel and cleaning chemicals.
- Out of reach of children and pets, ideally in a ventilated cabinet or on a sturdy shelf.
Wiring and protection
- Fuse or breaker near the battery. Put a DC fuse or breaker rated for the cable and the load on the positive cable, as close to the battery terminal as practical. A short circuit on a battery cable without a fuse can melt insulation and start a fire.
- Cables sized for the current. At 12.8V, a 1,000W inverter at full load draws roughly 1,000 ÷ 12.8 ≈ 78A from the battery, and more once you include inverter losses. During a surge, PowMr’s catalogue figure of 2× rated power for 5 seconds means about 156A for a moment. Battery cables and lugs must handle that safely.
- Tight, clean connections. Loose battery lugs heat up. Check them a few weeks after installation and then periodically.
- Insulated tools. Never let a spanner bridge the two battery terminals.
- Connect inverters straight to the battery. If you use a separate solar charge controller, PowMr’s Keeper manual says to connect an inverter directly to the battery, not to the controller’s load terminal.
Charging
- Set the charger, controller or inverter to the correct battery type and the battery maker’s charge voltages.
- Don’t charge a LiFePO4 battery outside the temperature range its manual allows.
- If a battery swells, smells, hisses or gets unusually hot, disconnect the charger if it’s safe to do so, move away, and contact the seller. Don’t try to open it.
An honest look at the PowMr 1000W 12V solar kit
The PowMr 1000W 12V solar kit on Lazada is an all-in-one bundle: inverter, battery, panel and cable. It isn’t sold on PowMr’s own website, so the contents come from the Lazada listing, and the inverter figures come from PowMr’s catalogue for the model we think it contains.
What’s in the box (per the listing)
- 1kW inverter
- 100Ah 12.8V LiFePO4 battery with a built-in BMS (type not stated)
- 200W panel, described as “flexible monocrystalline”
- 3m “6mm² 10AWG Solar Extension Cable”
- The battery is listed twice in the contents. That’s probably a listing error, but confirm whether you get one battery or two.
The inverter: likely POW-HVM1K-12V
The listing doesn’t name the inverter model. Its “80A MPPT” and “PV Start Voltage 20Voc” match PowMr’s catalogue figures for the POW-HVM1K-12V, so that’s our best inference. If it’s right, these are the specs:
| Spec | POW-HVM1K-12V (PowMr catalogue) |
|---|---|
| Rated output | 1,000W |
| Waveform | Pure sine (listing) |
| Output voltage | 230Vac ±5% |
| Output frequency | Catalogue: 50Hz. Listing: 50/60Hz. 60Hz unverified. |
| Surge | 2× rated power for 5 seconds |
| Solar MPPT range | 20–150V |
| Max solar Voc | 150V |
| Max solar input | 600W |
| Max AC charge current | 40A |
| Max total charge current | 80A |
| Battery types | Lithium and lead-acid, user-defined supported |
| No-load draw | Under 28W |
Concern 1: 60Hz output isn’t confirmed
The Philippine grid runs at 60Hz. Both PowMr catalogues (2024 and 2026) list this inverter’s output as 50Hz only. The listing says 50/60Hz. We can’t tell which is right for the unit you’d receive.
Many simple loads, such as phone chargers and LED lights, are not sensitive to frequency. But appliances made for the Philippine market expect 60Hz, and some with motors or timers can run differently on 50Hz. Before buying, ask the seller to confirm in writing that the inverter can be set to 60Hz output, and check the setting when it arrives.
Concern 2: the kit panel’s specs aren’t published
The 200W panel’s Voc, Isc, Vmp and Imp are not published. That matters because the inverter’s solar input needs at least 20V to start charging. Many “12V-class” panels operate at around 18–20V. If the kit panel is one of those, a single panel may sit at or below the 20V minimum and charge poorly or not at all, especially when hot. Ask the seller for the panel’s label figures, and in particular its Vmp.
Concern 3: battery current limits aren’t stated
The BMS type and current ratings aren’t given. As worked out above, a 1,000W load draws roughly 78A from a 12.8V battery, and a surge draws about twice that briefly. Ask the seller for the BMS’s continuous and peak discharge current. If the BMS limit is lower than the inverter needs, the battery may shut off when you start a heavier load.
What the numbers mean in use
- Full battery, label energy: 1,280Wh.
- AC charging: at the 40A maximum AC charge current, a flat 100Ah battery needs at least 100 ÷ 40 = 2.5 hours in the best case. Real charging slows near full, so expect longer, and only if the BMS accepts 40A.
- Solar charging: limited by the single 200W panel. As a rough example, 200W × 4–5 peak sun hours = 800–1,000Wh a day before losses (an example assumption, not a forecast). That’s only true if the panel’s voltage works with the inverter (see Concern 2).
- Idle draw: up to 672Wh per day if the inverter is left on. Switch it off when not needed.
Questions to send the seller before you buy
Copy these into the Lazada chat:
- What is the exact inverter model number on the nameplate?
- Can the inverter output 60Hz, and how is it set?
- What are the panel’s Voc, Isc, Vmp and Imp (from its label)?
- Does the kit include one battery or two?
- What are the BMS’s continuous and peak discharge current ratings?
- Which battery cables, fuse or breaker are included, and what current are they rated for?
- What is the warranty on the inverter, battery and panel, and who handles claims in the Philippines?
If the seller can’t answer questions 1–3, think twice. Those three are basic facts that decide whether the kit works properly on Philippine power.
Where a licensed electrician comes in
A stand-alone kit where you plug appliances into the inverter’s own outlets is something many owners set up themselves, following the manuals carefully. Anything wired to the house, a breaker panel, a transfer switch, the roof or the grid needs a licensed electrician and an LGU electrical permit. RA 7920 Sec. 34 requires electrical work to follow the Philippine Electrical Code under the supervision of a professional electrical engineer, registered electrical engineer or registered master electrician. Grid export needs your electric company’s approval; see our net metering guide. For the bigger picture on system types, see on-grid vs hybrid vs off-grid solar.
If you’d rather avoid DIY battery wiring altogether, a sealed power station with LiFePO4 inside is the simpler path. Our BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 solar kit guide covers a small one.
What to buy
- PowMr 1000W 12V solar kit on Lazada: only after the seller confirms the inverter model, 60Hz output, the panel’s Voc/Isc/Vmp, the battery count and the BMS current ratings.
- A DC fuse or breaker for the battery positive cable, rated for the cable and the inverter’s current (buy locally from an electrical supplier and ask for help choosing the rating).
- Properly sized battery cables and lugs if they aren’t included.
- A ventilated shelf or cabinet off the floor, away from sun and flammables.
- Simpler alternative: BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 on Lazada, a sealed 288Wh LiFePO4 power station with no battery wiring.
Prices change daily, so check today’s price on each listing.
Bottom line
Work out battery energy as amp-hours × volts, then plan with less than the label: allow for depth of discharge, inverter losses and the inverter’s idle draw. LiFePO4 is the sensible chemistry for daily solar cycling, as long as it’s placed somewhere cool, dry, ventilated and above flood level, with a fuse close to the battery. The PowMr 1000W kit’s 12.8V 100Ah battery holds 1,280Wh on paper, but its inverter model is inferred, its 60Hz output is unverified and its panel specs are unpublished. Get those answers in writing before you buy.
Run your own numbers
Frequently asked questions
How many watt-hours is a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery?
Is the PowMr 1000W solar kit 60Hz?
How much power does an inverter use when nothing is plugged in?
Where should I put a LiFePO4 battery in a Filipino home?
Sources
We link to primary sources wherever possible. Rates, rules and prices change — check the latest version with the publisher.
- PowMr 1000W 12V MPPT Solar System 230Vac All in one Inverter... 200W Monocrystalline Solar Panel with 12V 100AH Lithium battery (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
- 2024 PowMr Solar Product Catalogue (EN) (opens in a new tab) — PowMr
- 2026 PowMr Solar Product Catalogue (EN) (opens in a new tab) — PowMr
- KEEPER Series MPPT Solar Charge Controller User Manual V2.1 (20250703) (opens in a new tab) — PowMr
- BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable Power Station | 600W 288Wh (opens in a new tab) — BLUETTI Philippines (official store)
- Ecolum Solar Floodlight (opens in a new tab) — FELCO (Firefly Electric) official store
- Firefly Rechargeable Desk Fan with Solar Panel (opens in a new tab) — FELCO (Firefly Electric) official store
- BOSCA 16 Inch 12v DC Standing Solar Powered... BSF-888 (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
- Republic Act No. 7920 (New Electrical Engineering Law), Sec. 34 (opens in a new tab) — The LawPhil Project