Skip to main content
SmartEnergyPH
Solar Energy

Flexible vs Rigid Solar Panels for DIY Projects in the Philippines

Flexible vs rigid solar panels for Philippine DIY projects: verified PowMr specs, which listings leave out Voc and Isc, plus heat, typhoon and mounting tips.

By SmartEnergyPH Editorial 13 min read

Checked against the sources listed below. How we research.

Key takeaways

  • Rigid glass panels suit a fixed, well-mounted spot like a roof or a frame. Flexible panels suit light, curved or temporary setups, such as a tricycle roof, a boat or a camping kit.
  • PowMr publishes full electrical specs for its 100W and 150W flexible panels: both have Voc 21.6V and Vmp 18V, with Isc 6.11A (100W) and 9.16A (150W).
  • The PowMr 100W and 200W rigid panels, the PowMr 200W flexible, both Flowatt panels and the Bosca panels have no manufacturer electrical table. Their numbers are listing-only or missing.
  • Before you wire any panel, read the label on its back and write down Voc, Isc, Vmp and Imp. Those four numbers decide what it can safely connect to.
  • Bosca's listings give every size the same 22.32V Voc and 18V Vmp, which looks like a template. Treat them as seller claims until you see the label.
On this page
  1. The short version: which type fits which job
  2. What actually differs between flexible and rigid panels
  3. Verified specs: the PowMr 100W and 150W flexible panels
  4. What the other listings do and don’t tell you
  5. What “check the label before wiring” means in practice
  6. Heat: why mounting style matters in the Philippine sun
  7. Typhoon wind: the biggest risk is a panel coming loose
  8. Mounting options for each type
  9. Safety and who does what
  10. What to buy
  11. Bottom line

For most Philippine DIY projects, choose a rigid glass panel for a fixed spot you can mount properly (a roof, a carport, a steel frame), and a flexible panel when weight, a curved surface or portability matters more than long life and cooling. Among the panels we track, only the PowMr 100W flexible panel and PowMr 150W flexible panel have full manufacturer electrical specs (both Voc 21.6V, Vmp 18V). For the PowMr rigid panels, the PowMr 200W flexible, Flowatt and Bosca panels, the key numbers are either missing or come only from the shop listing, so you must read the label before wiring.

That last point matters more than the flexible-or-rigid choice. A panel’s open-circuit voltage (Voc) and short-circuit current (Isc) decide what you can safely plug it into. If you don’t know them, you can’t check a power station’s input limit or a charge controller’s maximum. This guide explains the real differences between the two panel types, goes through what each listing does and doesn’t tell you, and covers heat, typhoon wind and mounting in plain terms.

The short version: which type fits which job

Job Better fit Why
Permanent panel on a yero or long-span roof Rigid Aluminium frame clamps to rails; air gap underneath keeps it cooler
Steel frame or carport over a garden Rigid Easy to bolt down, easy to replace
Tricycle, jeepney, van or boat roof Flexible Light, follows gentle curves, low wind profile
Camping or beach kit for a small power station Flexible or folding Easy to carry and set up, then pack away
Balcony railing in a condo Either, small size Must be tied down well; check building rules
Typhoon-exposed rooftop you can’t easily reach Rigid, professionally mounted Needs proper fixings into the roof structure

Neither type is “better” in general. They solve different problems.

What actually differs between flexible and rigid panels

Construction

A rigid panel has solar cells sealed behind tempered glass, held in an aluminium frame, with a junction box on the back. The frame is what you clamp to a rail. The PowMr and Flowatt rigid listings describe this kind of panel (“rigid tempered glass”).

A flexible panel has the cells laminated in thin plastic layers, with no glass and no frame. It bends a little to follow a curved surface. It is mounted by its corner holes, by adhesive, or by ties, depending on the maker’s instructions.

Weight and handling

Rigid panels are heavy. The listings give:

PowMr does not publish the weight or size of its flexible panels, so we can’t give you a like-for-like comparison in kilos. Flexible panels are generally much lighter because they have no glass or frame, which is the main reason people buy them. Check the listing photos or ask the seller for the exact size before you plan where it goes.

Durability

Glass and an aluminium frame protect the cells from hail, falling branches and foot traffic during cleaning. A flexible panel’s plastic surface is easier to scratch and the cells inside can crack if the panel is bent too far or stepped on. Neither PowMr nor Flowatt publishes a minimum bend radius for these listings, so bend only as much as needed and follow the instructions in the box.

Junction boxes and weather

PowMr’s flexible panels have IP65 junction boxes. The PowMr 100W and 200W rigid listings and the Flowatt 200W rigid listing say IP67 junction boxes. Both ratings are about dust and water entering the junction box, not the whole panel. Keep connectors off the roof surface where water pools, and point the cable entry downward where you can.

Verified specs: the PowMr 100W and 150W flexible panels

These two are the only panels in this guide where the electrical figures come from the manufacturer’s own page.

Spec PowMr 100W flexible PowMr 150W flexible
Rated power (Pmax) 100W 150W
Open-circuit voltage (Voc) 21.6V 21.6V
Short-circuit current (Isc) 6.11A 9.16A
Voltage at max power (Vmp) 18V 18V
Current at max power (Imp) 5.55A 8.33A
Efficiency 21% 21%
Junction box IP65 IP65
Bypass diodes 2 2
Connector, size, weight Not published Not published

Two things to note:

  1. The 150W listing shows different numbers from PowMr’s own page. The Lazada variant label has a voltage, current and efficiency that don’t match PowMr’s spec table (and its voltage times current doesn’t even come to 150W). Go by PowMr’s figures above and the sticker on the panel you receive.
  2. The connector type isn’t published. Check the photos or ask the seller whether it ends in MC4 plugs. If it doesn’t, you’ll need the right adapter for whatever you plug it into.

Both panels are “12V-class” panels: an 18V operating voltage, suitable for charging a 12V battery through a controller or for the 12–28V solar input of small power stations. If you want to run one on a BLUETTI Elite 30 V2, our Elite 30 V2 solar kit guide covers what fits that input, including these two panels.

What the other listings do and don’t tell you

This is where buyers get caught. Below is what is known for each panel we link to, and what is missing.

PowMr 100W rigid: listing-only, no Voc or Isc

The PowMr 100W rigid panel is not on PowMr’s own store. The Lazada listing gives 100W, “21.7V” in the title (with no label saying what that voltage is), MC4-compatible connectors, a 1.5mm² cable 900mm long, the size and weight above, and an IP67 junction box. No Voc, Isc, Vmp or Imp is published anywhere we could find.

The listing also says it has 32 pieces of 210mm cells, which can’t physically fit in an 875 × 645mm panel unless they are cut cells. That kind of loose wording is a reason to check the real label.

PowMr 200W rigid and Flowatt 200W rigid: listing-only, probably the same panel

The PowMr 200W rigid panel and the Flowatt 200W rigid panel have identical listings: 200W, “19.4V” in the title (unlabelled), 56 cells, MC4-compatible connectors, 2.5mm² cable 1000mm long, 1340 × 765 × 30mm, 9.65kg and an IP67 junction box. Neither gives an electrical table. They may be the same panel under two names, but that isn’t confirmed.

PowMr 200W flexible: no longer on PowMr’s site

The PowMr 200W flexible panel (also on Lazada) is no longer in PowMr’s online catalogue. Its old page now shows the 150W panel. The listing variant says “200W 25.2V 10.28A” without saying which voltage and current those are. They may be Voc and Isc, but that isn’t verified, so we don’t use them for any wiring decision. The Shopee link goes to PowMr’s official Shopee store.

Flowatt 120W flexible: almost nothing published

The Flowatt 120W flexible panel listing gives “120W 21.6V” in its model field and nothing else electrical: no labelled Voc, no current, no connector type, no size or weight. We found no official Flowatt website or datasheet.

Bosca 60W, 120W and 160W: listing figures that look like a template

The Bosca listings do give full-looking tables:

Listing figure Bosca 60W Bosca 120W Bosca 160W
Voc 22.32V 22.32V 22.32V
Isc 3.57A 7.13A 9.51A
Vmp 18V 18V 18V
Imp 3.33A 6.67A 8.89A
Size 810 × 540 × 30mm 1126 × 666 × 35mm 1470 × 666 × 35mm
Weight 4.53kg 7.6kg 9.6kg
Connector Not stated Not stated (“Terminal Blocks” attribute) Not stated

But we found no official Bosca datasheet. Every size has exactly the same Voc and Vmp, and each Imp is exactly the wattage divided by 18. Real panels of different sizes rarely line up that neatly, so these look like a template rather than measured data. The connector isn’t stated either, so the panel may come with a bare junction box rather than MC4 plugs. Treat all Bosca numbers as seller claims and confirm them against the label.

Summary of what’s verified

Panel Type Electrical specs source Voc and Isc known?
PowMr 100W flexible Flexible PowMr (manufacturer) Yes
PowMr 150W flexible Flexible PowMr (manufacturer) Yes
PowMr 200W flexible Flexible Listing only, unlabelled No
PowMr 100W rigid Rigid glass Listing only, unlabelled No
PowMr 200W rigid Rigid glass Listing only, unlabelled No
Flowatt 200W rigid Rigid glass Listing only, unlabelled No
Flowatt 120W flexible Flexible Listing only, unlabelled No
Bosca 60W / 120W / 160W Rigid-style (30–35mm thick per listing) Listing only Listed, but unverified

What “check the label before wiring” means in practice

Every proper solar panel has a sticker or plate on the back with its rated figures, measured at standard test conditions. When your panel arrives:

  1. Photograph the label before you mount the panel. Once it’s on the roof, you won’t be able to read it.
  2. Write down four numbers: Voc (open-circuit voltage), Isc (short-circuit current), Vmp (voltage at maximum power) and Imp (current at maximum power).
  3. Compare Voc with the input limit of whatever you’re connecting to. A power station or controller manual gives a maximum input voltage. The panel’s Voc (or the total Voc of panels in series) must be below it, and we recommend keeping at least a 10% margin.
  4. Compare Isc with the input current limit, where the device publishes one. Some small power stations have a strict current limit, and a panel that’s slightly over can be a problem.
  5. Check the connector. MC4 is the common standard on rigid panels. Small portable panels may use DC5521, XT60 or other plugs. You need the right cable.
  6. If the label is missing or unreadable, don’t guess. Ask the seller in writing for the spec sheet. If they can’t give one, return the panel.

A cheap multimeter set to DC volts lets you measure Voc on a sunny day (panel disconnected, probes on the two terminals). It’s a useful sanity check against the label, but it is not a substitute for the label, because Voc changes with temperature and sunlight.

Heat: why mounting style matters in the Philippine sun

Solar cells produce less power as they get hotter. In a Philippine summer, a panel’s surface can get much hotter than the air around it. How much power you lose depends on the panel’s temperature coefficient, which none of the panels in this guide publish. So we can’t give you a percentage, only the general rule: keep air moving behind the panel.

  • Rigid panels on rails sit above the roof with a gap underneath. Air flows behind them and carries heat away.
  • Flexible panels glued or taped flat onto a metal roof have no gap. The panel and the hot roof heat each other. Expect lower output in the middle of the day than the same panel would give with air behind it.
  • Flexible panels on a light frame or tied over a gap do better than ones stuck flat.

If you use a flexible panel on a vehicle or a boat, it will often be flat against the roof anyway. That’s an accepted trade-off for the low weight and low wind profile. Just don’t expect it to match the label wattage on a hot afternoon.

Typhoon wind: the biggest risk is a panel coming loose

A solar panel is a flat sheet that catches wind like a sail. In a typhoon, the danger is less about the panel breaking and more about it tearing free and becoming a flying object, or ripping the roof sheet it’s fixed to.

General points for each type:

  • Rigid panels should be fixed with proper clamps to rails, and the rails fixed into the roof’s purlins or rafters, not just the thin roof sheet. Our metal roof mounting guide goes through rails, end clamps, mid clamps and sealing in detail.
  • Flexible panels stuck on with adhesive depend entirely on that bond. Heat, UV and time can weaken it. If a corner starts lifting, wind can peel the whole panel off. Check the edges after every storm.
  • Portable and folding panels should simply be brought inside when PAGASA raises a wind signal. They aren’t designed to stay out in a storm.
  • Cables should be clipped down so they don’t flap and wear through.

We don’t quote wind-speed ratings here because none of these listings publish them. If your panel will stay on a roof through typhoon season, have the mounting checked by someone qualified. A structural or civil engineer can tell you whether your roof framing is up to it.

Mounting options for each type

Rigid panels:

  • Rails plus end clamps and mid clamps on a metal roof. A solar rail and clamp kit for metal roofs is the usual starting point. Match the clamp height to your panel’s frame thickness: the PowMr and Flowatt 200W rigid panels are 30mm thick, which suits 30mm end clamps; the PowMr 100W rigid is 25mm and the Bosca 120W and 160W are 35mm, so they need clamps sized for those frames.
  • Z-brackets for a single small panel on a flat surface, wall or frame.
  • A steel or aluminium frame on the ground or on a concrete roof deck, with the panels bolted to it.

Flexible panels:

  • Screws or bolts through the corner grommets onto a flat board or frame.
  • Adhesive or tape where the maker allows it (check the instructions; some makers specifically recommend against certain adhesives).
  • Cable ties to a frame for temporary use.

Either way, a solar panel angle guide helps you check the tilt once the panel is up. Some tilt also helps rainwater wash dust off.

Safety and who does what

A portable panel plugged into a power station is a plug-and-play setup you can do yourself by following the manual. Anything wired to the house, a breaker panel, the roof structure or the grid needs a licensed electrician working under a Professional Electrical Engineer’s plans, plus an LGU electrical permit. Under RA 7920 Sec. 34, electrical installations must follow the Philippine Electrical Code and be done under the supervision of a professional electrical engineer, registered electrical engineer or registered master electrician. If you ever want to export power to the grid, that goes through your electric company’s process; see our net metering guide.

For working out how many panels you need in the first place, see how many solar panels a Philippine home needs or try the solar system size calculator. For a bigger rooftop project, read the residential solar installation guide.

What to buy

Flexible panels with verified specs (best choice if you need flexible):

Rigid panels (check the label before wiring):

Flexible panels with unverified specs:

Mounting:

Prices change daily, so check today’s price on each listing.

Bottom line

Pick rigid for anything permanent and roof-mounted, and flexible for light, curved or portable jobs. Whichever you choose, the deciding factor is whether you know the panel’s real Voc and Isc. Right now, the PowMr 100W and 150W flexible panels are the only ones in this group with manufacturer-published electrical specs. For every other panel here, photograph the label, write down the four key numbers, and don’t connect anything until they check out.

Run your own numbers

Frequently asked questions

Are flexible solar panels good for the Philippine climate?
They can work well for light, portable or curved setups. PowMr's 100W and 150W flexible panels have IP65 junction boxes. But flexible panels are usually stuck or tied flat to a surface, so they get little air underneath and can run hotter than a raised rigid panel. That lowers output on hot days. For a permanent roof setup, most DIYers choose framed rigid panels on rails.
Can I glue a flexible solar panel directly onto my yero roof?
Gluing or taping a panel flat to hot metal leaves no air gap, and a strong typhoon gust can peel it off if the bond fails. If you must fix one to a roof, follow the maker's mounting instructions, keep the cable from flapping, and remember that anything wired into your house needs a licensed electrician.
Why does a 200W rigid panel listing show only one voltage?
Some Lazada listings put a single number such as "19.4V" in the title without saying whether it is Voc or Vmp. You can't size wiring from an unlabelled number. Check the sticker on the back of the panel, or ask the seller for the full Voc, Isc, Vmp and Imp.
Are the PowMr 200W rigid and Flowatt 200W rigid the same panel?
Their listings show identical size (1340 × 765 × 30mm), weight (9.65kg), cell count and cable. That suggests the same panel sold under two names, but neither brand confirms it, and neither listing gives a full electrical table.

Sources

We link to primary sources wherever possible. Rates, rules and prices change — check the latest version with the publisher.

  1. 100W Flexible Monocrystalline Solar Panel (opens in a new tab) — PowMr
  2. 150W Flexible Monocrystalline Solar Panel (2PCS) — page handle 200w-flexible-monocrystalline-solar-panel (opens in a new tab) — PowMr
  3. PowMr 150W flexible panel (variants "150W 20.4V 9.5A") (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  4. PowMr 200W flexible solar panel, Model POW-LTW 200W (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  5. PowMr 100W 21.7V Monocrystalline Rigid Glass Solar Panel (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  6. PowMr 200W 19.4V Monocrystalline Rigid Tempered Glass Solar Panel (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  7. Flowatt 200W 19.4V Monocrystalline Solar Panel (Official FLOWATT Store) (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  8. Flowatt 120W Flexible Monocrystalline Solar Panel (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  9. Bosca 5 Year Warranty 60W Solar Panel Mono 60 Watt 12 Volt (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  10. Bosca 5 Year Warranty 120W Solar Panel Mono 120 Watt 12 Volt (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  11. Bosca 5 Year Warranty 160W Solar Panel Mono 160 Watt 12 Volt (opens in a new tab) — Lazada Philippines (marketplace listing)
  12. Republic Act No. 7920 (New Electrical Engineering Law), Sec. 34 (opens in a new tab) — The LawPhil Project

Before you go

Don’t miss today’s deals

Prices and vouchers change daily on Shopee and Lazada.

Sponsored